Cavs hockey wins back-to-back PCRHL championships



Cabrini College has captured their third overall and second consecutive PCRHL Championship. The Cavs won game one and two by 6-3 and then a 5-4 overtime win against Widener University.

Game 1:

The Cavs got things going early with a goal 50 seconds into the game by sophomore Clay Anders. Just about the midway point of the period sophomore Chris Fonte knocked one in off a rebound to put the Cavs up by two in the period. Less than a minute into the second period forward Bob Layden put the Cavs up by three. Later in the period freshman Jack Sanders scored a top shelf goal to make it 4-0 heading into the final period of play. Widener didn’t give up in the third period as they scored two unanswered goals to cut Cabrini’s lead in half. The Cavs didn’t allow a comeback to happen though, as Anders buried his second goal of the game to extend the lead by three. The Cavs finished the game with a 6-3 victory over Widener.

Game 2:

The first period was all Widener as they scored two fast unanswered goals to give them the 2-0 leading heading into the second period. The second period was a defensive one, as no goals were scored until 12 minutes in. Sophomore Ryan Mullen put the Cavs on the board to cut the lead in half. With three seconds left in the period Mullen passed from the other end to Fonte who shot and left a rebound for Layden to tie the game up at two a piece heading into the third. Widener came out with another fast start to the third period, as they scored two goals in the first five minutes of play. 12 minutes left in the game Keith Marr knocked a rebound in to cut the deficit to one. Marr wasn’t done there as 48 seconds left in the period he knocked another one in to tie the game and send it into overtime. After four roughing penalties the Cavs saw themselves on a power play where Fonte deflected a shot over the goalie but the goal was called off because of a high sticking call. A minute later Anders took the puck up the rink and put it right past the keeper to win the 2016 PCRHL championship.





Comments are closed.