Top Menu

Men’s lacrosse advances to the CSAC final

Cabrini men’s lacrosse advanced to their 15th consecutive CSAC conference game with their 25-7 win over Neumann University.

The Cavaliers improve to 15-1 on the season with their only loss coming out of conference.

14 different players had at least one point in the win. Junior Damian Sobieski and Mike Leyden had a combined 14 points. Sobieski and Leyden each had five goals in the game.

Sobieski scored the first goal for Cabrini and then went on to have his second after just nine minutes of play. Cabrini broke out to a 6-2 lead after 15 minutes of the game and never looked back.

The Cavs went into the half with a 12-4 lead after Sobieski found sophomore Kevin MacQuilliam for a goal with 1:50 left in the first half.

The Blue and White went on to outscore the Neumann 13-3 with nine different player scoring goals.

The Cavalier will face Marywood University on Saturday, May 3 in the CSAC championship game. This is the third time that these two teams will meet in the championship game since 2011. The last time the two teams met, senior Corey Elmer had a program high 13 points and the Cavs won 18-8.

Elmer and head coach Steve Colfer received CSAC accolades. Elmer received CSAC player of the year for the second straight year, and Colfer received his ninth Coach of the Year award. Seven other players were named to the CSAC First Team honors including juniors Mike Leyden, Damian Sobieski, Anthony DiSanzo and Anthony DiNenno and seniors Matt Ward, Mac Feiner and JoJo Cooper.

Comments are closed.